Theadventuresofjames’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Eggs

I heard about an experiment from my friend.
You squeeze an egg with pressure all around it and it won’t break.

When we tried it, it worked. I felt like it was going to break but it didn’t.
The trick is to squeeze it with one hand. You have to make sure that you’re pushing as hard as you can but you have to do it evenly.

When my mom’s friend did it, she didn’t break it. Her husband did it and it exploded all over the kitchen.
He looked like we set him up.
We all laughed a lot.

He didn’t put the pressure on evenly.

Try it–don’t push it with all your might otherwise it hurts.
Try it over the sink or over a bowl or in a room that’s really easy in to clean up. Just in case!

Tell me if you tried it.

April 20, 2009 - Posted by | My Science

4 Comments »

  1. When I was coming up from the barn last week, with an egg in my hand, I wondered if I could squeeze it hard enough to break it….. but now I wonder if I could do it so it won’t break! lol 🙂

    Comment by Miss Jocelyn | April 20, 2009 | Reply

  2. Made us laugh about the egg exploding all over the kitchen.
    which you had a video of that.

    Comment by Beth | April 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. lol
    I had a sibling once make me hold an egg through the crack between the door and the doorjam that the hinges are on — I think she said I was supposed to be see if I could pull the egg through that crack — then she left the room!

    Have you tried different ways of wrapping an egg to see which ways survive a fall?

    Comment by The Old Aunt | April 21, 2009 | Reply

  4. James,
    We want to hear more about what you are doing?

    Comment by Beth | May 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

